Promote O.R. by Taking Folks by Surprise

Due to a number of things that have been keeping me busy, including a 20-day fight against a kidney stone that is now finally over, I haven’t had much time to post. I have two ideas that I plan to turn into posts soon, but in the meantime I’d like to suggest that everyone write a post about “santa claus” and “reindeer” (and properly tag it with those words). As the picture below indicates, I’ve been getting a lot of hits lately (way above average) and, digging deeper, I see that my post entitled “How Should Santa Pair Up His Reindeer?” has had 2,209 views this past week. Yay for Christmas!

Screen Shot 2012-12-04 at 10.27.15 AMAs a matter of fact, I suggest that everyone write a post about each special date of the year (Easter, Fourth of July, Valentine’s Day, Summer Camp, etc.). Those will keep bringing you recurring visits, without any extra effort, year after year. Of course not all (in fact, most) of those visits will be here for O.R. But that’s the point! If we want to spread the word about O.R. we’ve got to take people by surprise. “I was just looking for a cute reindeer picture and this guy blew my mind by showing me that math and reindeer have something to do with each other! How cool is that!”

BTW, I just realized I do not have an Easter post. I need to take care of this…

Leave a comment

Filed under Holidays, Promoting OR

Leave a Reply

