YouTube Videos on Solving LPs with Excel

This had been in the back burner for a long while. Each time I taught my O.R. class (either undergrad or MBA), I kept thinking that the students would like to be able to see the Excel setup of an LP model over and over again. Many of them are not proficient in Excel, and my class is their first contact with things like absolute cell references and SUMPRODUCT. I watched a number of YouTube videos on the topic, but I wasn’t happy with any of them. Besides, I wanted the video to be about the same example that I use in the classroom. So I decided to bite the bullet and go for it. I think the outcome was decent: not great, but not terrible either. My wife said I sound a little stilted. I agree. I was only willing to do it once, no second takes, which means I was a little nervous :-)

Before I give you the link to the videos, I need to bring your attention to two disclaimers:

Disclaimer 1: I used the demo version of iShowU to record my screen action. That means you’ll see a green watermark on top of the video. I know it’s ugly, but I didn’t want to pay $29.95 for it. At least not until I get some feedback to convince me that I’ll be doing more of these videos.

Disclaimer 2: I shamelessly use the same example that they (used to?) use at the Tepper School in my classes: the “famous” farmer problem (sorry Javier :-). I was the head TA for that class a number of times and I literally sat through it at least 3 or 4 times.

Here they are:

Linear Programming: The Farmer Problem, Part I (9:07 min)

Linear Programming: The Farmer Problem, Part II (8:57 min)

I hope these videos turn out to be useful to my students and to anyone who wants to learn about linear programming and Excel Solver. I’m thinking about doing more videos on the diet problem, transportation, sensitivity analysis, etc. Let’s see how things go.

3 Comments

Filed under Linear Programming, Modeling, Teaching, Videos, YouTube

3 responses to “YouTube Videos on Solving LPs with Excel

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention YouTube Videos on Solving LPs with Excel « O.R. by the Beach -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

